Day 8 – Russell

With nothing planned I took the opportunity to sleep in a little before heading down to the jetty and catching the ferry, that runs every half an hour, across to Russell. It was the first permanent European settlement and port in New Zealand.

a one-legged seagull on the pier in Russell

the Russell pier in Kororareka Bay

I walked up to the top of Flagstaff Hill to get a great 360 degree view of the Bay of Islands although it was an overcast day so not great for photos.

looking down on the town of Russell, Bay of Islands, New Zealand

I then followed a path down through the dense vegetation to a beach hidden away and mine were the first footprints in the sand.

I had this beach all to myself

looking back towards Paihia

Then it was on to Tapeka Point which I could see from the top of the hill and looked like a great little holiday spot.

Tapeka Point

From the beach here I could see way off in the distance the famous “hole in the rock” that you could pay a hundred odd dollars to visit on a high-speed jet boat, not worth it for my money. However I found my own hole in the rock here.

I found my own hole in the rock

I then  walked back into Russell to get some lunch passing, along the way, the first church built in New Zealand as well as these birds that made for great photo subjects.

the Common Blackbird

a pair of Mallards or wild ducks

With fresh fish & chips in hand I took a seat in the sun on a bench overlooking this picturesque scene at the beach and it wasn’t long before a flock of seagulls joined me.

back to the beach with fish & chips for lunch

more seagulls waiting for scraps

After lunch I caught the ferry back across the bay to Paihia and with some nice views now since the sun had come out.

panorama of Russell as we make our way back to Paihia

one of the many islands in the Bay of Islands

Later that evening I went down the road from the hostel to the point to just sit and watch the sunset over the bay.

Sunset over Te Ti Bay, Paihia

About Rory Alexander

Ever growing blogger that spent 2 years in living in China, then 6 weeks backpacking around New Zealand and is now back home in South Africa for the foreseeable future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Day 8 – Russell

  1. roanmack13 says:

    You sure do eat a lots of fish & chips, don’t you???

Leave a Reply

