Day 31 – Queenstown and the view from above

After the big night out I woke up quite late and spent the rest of the morning catching up on my journal in the sunny TV lounge of the Southern Laughter Hostel. Having waited for the day to warm up, which it had only slightly, I then took a walk into town to book my next Magic Bus seat for the Saturday coming, got some lunch and replaced the battery in my watch.

In the afternoon, feeling like I hadn’t done much yet, I went for a hike up to the Skyline Gondola. Partly because I was saving money but it was also a beautiful afternoon I chose not to take the cable car up and rather hike through the dense Beech forest.

Looking through the forest over Lake Wakatipu

Although it was steep, it was a nice path up with great views every now and again, through clearings in the trees, of Lake Wakatipu below.

in amongst the Beech forest

The views from the top were definitely worth the climb as you can see in these photos.

panorama of Queenstown and Lake Wakatipu with the Remarkables in the distance

180 degree panorama of Queenstown from the top of the gondola

me looking across to the Remarkables in the fading light

It was freezing though and as the sun sank lower in the sky I took one last look before making my way back down through the forest. Back at the hostel the free vegetable soup was just the ticket to warm up while relaxing and watching a movie before getting an early night.

About Rory Alexander

Ever growing blogger that spent 2 years in living in China, then 6 weeks backpacking around New Zealand and is now back home in South Africa for the foreseeable future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

