Goodbye New Zealand, Hello Emirates

Sadly my time in New Zealand had come to an end. The six weeks had flown by and the beauty of the country had surpassed all my expectations. The Magic Bus proved to have been a great choice for my adventure and a childhood dream has now been realised. With the adventure over all that was left was the long journey home.

Emirates Flight EK 419 waiting at the gate of Christchurch Airport

I am probably one of the few people who chooses flights based on what aircraft are flying rather than price or time. I just love flying. I could have flown cheaper, I could have flown faster but I chose Emirates and my route via Sydney and Dubai because I would get to fly on the Airbus A380. Not only fly on it but be on it for 16 hours from Sydney to Dubai. After the short 3 hour flight from Christchurch to Sydney landing at sunset over the harbour bridge it was a 3 hour wait before I boarded the next leg to Dubai. I waited for the boarding queue to die down before making my way to check-in. They scanned my ticket and warning beep sounded while a red light flashed. There was a problem, my heart sank. I had pre-booked my seat, at the bulkhead and started thinking that a family with a small child had checked in now I was going to be reassigned a seat further down the plane. I was told to stand aside while they flipped through a stack of tickets. They quickly found it and said, “You’ve been upgraded to Business Class Mr Alexander and here is your new ticket.”

I didn’t even pause to as why, I just took my ticket and made my way up the right hand ramp to the upper deck door. I had to stop myself from jumping up and down like a kid and only half way to the plane did I look at my ticket and see that my seat number was 6D which I knew was right at the front of the Business Class Cabin. Was this really happening? My first flight on the A380 and I was going to be in Business Class.

Emirates business class on the upper deck of the Airbus A380

The Emirates Business Class reflected in a flower bowl

Smoked salmon starter with a full dinner service

The wireless mini screen and seat control. Yes, that's me adjusting the massage setting.

Engrossed in a movie on my own 18 inch screen with noise reduction headphones

I was blown away by Emirates and their Business Class on the Airbus A380. Despite the lie flat seat I didn’t sleep much with so many movies to watch and gadgets to play with. Not to mention the full bar at the back were you could go chill out with a cocktail and bar snacks on leather couches. The food was delicious and beautifully presented. The service as well from the cabin crew asking what drink I would like after takeoff and not the stereotypical chicken or beef but “will you be joining us for dinner” and “what would you like?” Not to mention the space, personal space and lots of it. I couldn’t see the person next to me or across the aisle unless I leaned forward actually looked around the partitions. This is what flying should be like and if only I could afford to fly business class every time.

This was a perfect end to my New Zealand adventure but it is only the beginning of my next adventure and new blog, Rory in South Africa.

About Rory Alexander

Ever growing blogger that spent 2 years in living in China, then 6 weeks backpacking around New Zealand and is now back home in South Africa for the foreseeable future.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Goodbye New Zealand, Hello Emirates

  1. Pity business class is not the norm! Lucky you!

  2. bananabatman says:

    Congratulations on the upgrade. They are hard to come by these days.

    I have really enjoyed New Zealand as seen by you. Thanks.

  3. Cool 🙂 I always fly in something that makes me feel like I am a sardine and canned 🙂

  4. amcalonder says:

    You’ve lived my dream… One of these days I might be able to actually afford to fly in style, but I don’t see that occurring in the foreseeable future, so til then my fingers are crossed for an upgrade. Sad to see the adventures end!

  5. Well Emirates is truly an amazing flight isn’t it? 😀

  6. Wow! Looks like something from the future. 🙂

  7. Pingback: A beautiful ending in New York « Rory in America

Leave a Reply

